Faculty & Staff Directory

Name Department / Office Contact
T. J. Anderson III

T. J. Anderson III

Professor, English

English & Creative Writing, Creative Writing M.F.A.

Swannanoa

540-362-6378

tanderson@hollins.edu

Karen Bender

Karen Bender

Distinguished Visiting Professor, Creative Writing

English & Creative Writing, Creative Writing M.F.A.

Swannanoa

540-362-7454

benderke@hollins.edu

Matthew Burnside

Visiting Assistant Professor, Creative Writing

English & Creative Writing, Creative Writing M.F.A., First-Year Seminars

Swannanoa

540-362-6276

burnsidemk@hollins.edu

Michelle DeGroot

Michelle DeGroot

Assistant Professor, English

English & Creative Writing

Swannanoa

540-362-6433

degrootmc@hollins.edu

R. H. W. Dillard

R. H. W. Dillard

Professor, English

Editor, Hollins Critic

English & Creative Writing, Film, Creative Writing M.F.A., Hollins Critic

Swannanoa

540-362-6316

rdillard@hollins.edu

Cathryn Hankla

Cathryn Hankla

Professor, English

English & Creative Writing, Creative Writing M.F.A.

Swannanoa

540-362-6278

chankla@hollins.edu

Pauline Kaldas

Pauline Kaldas

Professor, English

English & Creative Writing, Gender & Women’s Studies, Public Health, Creative Writing M.F.A.

Swannanoa

540-362-7489

pkaldas@hollins.edu

Thorpe Moeckel

Thorpe Moeckel

Associate Professor, Chair, English

English & Creative Writing, Creative Writing M.F.A., First-Year Seminars, Environmental Studies / Environmental Science

Swannanoa

540-362-6427

tmoeckel@hollins.edu

Marilyn Moriarty

Marilyn Moriarty

Professor, English

English & Creative Writing

Turner

540-362-6277

mmoriarty@hollins.edu

Julie Pfeiffer

Julie Pfeiffer

Professor, English

Editor, "Children's Literature"

English & Creative Writing, Gender & Women’s Studies, Children’s Literature and Children’s Book Illustration, Certificate in Children’s Book Illustration, First-Year Seminars

Swannanoa

540-362-6318

jpfeiffer@hollins.edu

Elizabeth Poliner

Elizabeth Poliner

Associate Professor, English

Director, Jackson Center for Creative Writing

Susan Gager Jackson Professor of Creative Writing

English & Creative Writing, Creative Writing M.F.A.

Swannanoa

540-362-6322

epoliner@hollins.edu

Rebecca M. Rosen

Rebecca M. Rosen

Visiting Assistant Professor, English

English & Creative Writing, Gender & Women’s Studies

Swannanoa

540-362-7490

rosenrm@hollins.edu

Meighan Sharp

Visiting Lecturer

English & Creative Writing, Hollinsummer

Swannanoa

540-362-7445

msharp2@hollins.edu

Jessie VanEerden

Jessie VanEerden

Associate Professor, Creative Writing

English & Creative Writing, Creative Writing M.F.A.

Swannanoa

540-362-6350

vaneerdenjh@hollins.edu