Wyndham Robertson Library Honors Undergraduate Research Award Winners and Finalists

Academics, Accolades and Awards, Research

April 27, 2023

single-paper-background Wyndham Robertson Library Research Awards 2023

Hollins University’s Wyndham Robertson Library has announced the winners and finalists of this year’s Undergraduate Research Awards.

The annual awards recognize exemplary student research projects completed in Hollins courses. The research projects showcase extensive and creative usage of the library’s resources; the ability to synthesize those resources in completing the project; and growth in the student’s research skills.

The awards feature a cash prize of $300 for winners and $100 for finalists.

The 2023 winners are:

  • Hailee Brandt ’25 in the First-Year/Sophomore category for The Forced Effeminization of Male Chinese Immigrants and the Consequences of This Process, recommended by Ruth Alden Doan Assistant Professor of History Christopher Florio;
  • Elizabeth Klein ’23 in the Junior/Senior category for Jewish Pioneers in the Service of Christian Whiteness in the 19th-Century American West, also recommended by Florio.

This year’s finalists include:

  • Ari Cogswell ’26, Sylvia Guillet ’26, and Alyssa Lawhorn ’26 in the First-Year Sophomore category;
  • Mars McLeod ’23, Paramita Vadhahong Painter ’23, and Caylin Wigger ’23 in the Junior/Senior category.

Profiles of the winners and finalists are on the awards webpage, and their entries are published in the Hollins Digital Commons.

The Undergraduate Research Awards are cosponsored by the library and the Office of Academic Affairs. This year’s judges were Assistant Professor of Psychology Seung-Hee Han; Assistant Professor of Film Nathan Lee; Professor of Art Emerita Kathleen Nolan; Library Student Assistant Milo Ramirez Pacheco ’25; Director of the Writing Center Brent Stevens; and University Librarian Luke Vilelle.