Focus on Philanthropy

on February 7 | in Giving, Homepage | by

New York, New York

1842 Society members enjoyed music, museums, and more

Members of the 1842 Society met in New York last November for a weekend of arts, culture, food, and Hollins news. Daytime activities included visits to New York museums, a reading by Natasha Trethewey M.A. ’91, a tour of Central Park, and a rehearsal of the renowned Choir of Men and Boys of Saint Thomas Church, Fifth Avenue. The group also enjoyed a luncheon program by voice artist Fred Newman of A Prairie Home Companion fame. The evenings featured gatherings at the home of Julian Robertson (brother of Trustee Emerita Wyndham Robertson ’58) and the headquarters of the Classical American Homes Preservation Trust on the Upper East Side.

The weekend culminated in a celebratory dinner at the Links. During the program, former trustee Sandra Frazier ’94 was honored with the Hollins Medal, and June Brill Myles ’64 was recognized for her generosity to Hollins with an induction into the Levavi Oculos Society. Interim President Nancy Gray provided an update on Hollins today.

The 1842 Society comprises donors of annual gifts of at least $1,842 to the Hollins Fund. The society’s weekends began more than 16 years ago, with the location of the event changing annually. Recent weekends have been held in Nashville; Washington, D.C.; and San Francisco.

1842 Society members

Debbie Meade (Board of Trustees member), Hazel Bernard ’76, and Mary Page Evans ’59.

1842 Society members

Sandra Kiely Kolb ’70 (Board of Trustees member), Elizabeth “Betsy” Akers Crawford ’70, and Frances Leitner ’73.

1842 Society members

Sandra Frazier ‘94, Alexandra “Alex” Trower ’86 (chair of the Board of Trustees), Interim President Nancy Gray, and June Brill Myles ’64.

1842 Society members

Abigail “Abby” Ross Sioussat ’81, Pierce Sioussat, and Kate Nicolaides Lyons ’81.

1842 Society members

Miriam “Mim” Hayllar Farmakis ‘67, Tom Farmakis, and Betsy Akers Crawford ’70.

1842 Society

Sandra Frazier ‘94, Wyndham Robertson ‘58, and Paige Smith Jernigan ’87.

1842 Society members

Anne Hipp Habeck and Zelime Gillespie Matthews, both class of 1968.

1842 Society members

Sandra Kiely Kolb ’70, Elizabeth “Libby” Hall McDonnell ’62, and Leslie Dunne Ketner ’84.

Comments are closed.

« »

Scroll to top