Recognition for an illustrious career

on July 1 | in In the Loop | by

R.H.W. Dillard
Professor of English R.H.W. Dillard was inducted this spring into the Fellowship of Southern Writers during the Chattanooga Arts & Education Council’s Conference on Southern Literature. The fellowship was established more than twenty years ago by Cleanth Brooks, Louis D. Rubin, Jr., Shelby Foote, and other southern writers. Dillard has taught creative writing, literature, and film studies at Hollins since 1964 and was for many years the director of the M.A. program in English and creative writing. Other writers inducted this year were Betty Adcock, Elizabeth Cox, Tony Earley, Claudia Emerson, Charles Frazier, Katori Hall, Ann Patchett, Jayne Anne Phillips, Padgett Powell, and Ron Rash.

Fruits of RHWD’s labor

The Day I Stopped Dreaming About Barbara Steele and Other Poems
News of the Nile
After Borges
Just Here, Just Now
The Greeting: New & Selected Poems
What Is Owed the Dead

The First Man on the Sun
The Book of Changes

Critical studies
Understanding George Garrett
Horror Films

The Hollins Critic

Other awards
• Association of Writers and Writing Programs George Garrett Award for Outstanding Community Service in Literature (2007)
• Fellowship of Southern Writers Hanes Poetry Prize (2003)
• O. B. Hardison, Jr. Poetry Prize of the Folger Shakespeare Library (1994)
• Virginia Professor of the Year (1987)

Comments are closed.

« »

Scroll to top