Louis D. Rubin Jr. Writer-in-Residence

Each spring, we host a distinguished writer-in-residence who works with graduate and selected undergraduate students. Louis D. Rubin Jr. founded Hollins’ renowned creative writing program.

2021 Writer-in-Residence

Marilyn Chin

Marilyn Chin was born in Hong Kong and raised in Portland, Oregon. She received a B.A. from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, in Chinese literature and an M.F.A. from the University of Iowa. Her books have become Asian American classics and are taught in classrooms internationally. Her most recent book is A Portrait of the Self as Nation: New and Selected Poems (W.W. Norton, 2018).

Chin’s other books of poems include: Hard Love Province, Rhapsody in Plain Yellow, Dwarf Bamboo, and The Phoenix Gone, the Terrace Empty. Her book of wild girl fiction is called Revenge of the Mooncake Vixen.

In August 2020, the Poetry Foundation awarded Chin the winner of the 2020 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize. She has also won numerous awards, including the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, the United States Artist Foundation Award, the Radcliffe Institute Fellowship at Harvard, the Rockefeller Foundation Fellowship, two NEAs, the Stegner Fellowship, the PEN/Josephine Miles Award, five Pushcart Prizes, a Fulbright Fellowship to Taiwan, a Lannan Residency, and others. In 2017, she was honored by the Asian Pacific Islander Caucus and the California Assembly for her activism and excellence in education.

Presently, Chin is professor emerita at San Diego State University and serves as a chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.

Recent Writers-In-Residence

2020: Patricia Spears Jones

Patricia Spears Jones is author of the poetry collections Painkiller, Femme du Monde, The Weather That Kills, and A Lucent Fire: New and Selected Poems. She is the 11th winner of the Jackson Poetry Prize, one of the most prestigious awards for American poets. She is a recipient of grants and awards from the NEA, NYFA, and a Barbara Deming Memorial Fund Award in 2015. Essence.com named her one of its “40 Poets They Love in 2010.” Her work is widely anthologized.

2019: Pam Durban

Pam Durban’s books include two collections of short stories, All Set About with Fever Trees (1985) and Soon (2015), and three novels: The Laughing Place (1993); So Far Back (2000), winner of the Lillian Smith Award for Fiction; and The Tree of Forgetfulness (2012). She is the Doris Betts Distinguished Professor of Creative Writing at the University of North Carolina.

2018: Janisse Ray

Author of six books including Ecology of a Cracker Childhood, a New York Times Notable Book that was as chosen as the Book All Georgians Should Read.

2017: Li-Young Lee

Beloved author of poetry collections such as Behind My Eyes and The City In Which I Love You, Li-Young Lee has received numerous accolades.

2016: Tom Drury

Drury has published five novels with Grove Press and written short stories for McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, A Public Space, The New Yorker, and more.

2015: Rebecca McClanahan

Author of 10 books. Her most recent, The Tribal Knot, is a multigenerational memoir. Numerous writing programs assign one of her books on writing, Word Painting: A Guide to Writing More Descriptively.

2014: Karen Salyer McElmurray M.A. ’89

Her memoir, Surrendered Child: A Birth Mother’s Journey, was an AWP Award Winner for Creative Nonfiction. Her novels are The Motel of the Stars and Strange Birds in the Tree of Heaven.

2013: Karen Osborn ’79

She has written four novels: Patchwork, Between Earth and Sky, The River Road, and Centerville. She received a Notable Book of the Year Award from The New York Times.

2012: Natasha Trethewey M.A. ’91

In June 2012 Trethewey was named U.S. poet laureate for 2012-13 (reappointed for 2013-14) by the Library of Congress. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the Lillian Smith Award for her collection Native Guard, Trethewey wrote two previous poetry collections, Bellocq’s Ophelia, and Domestic Work. Beyond Katrina: A Meditation on the Mississippi Gulf Coast was published in fall 2010. In January 2012, she was named poet laureate of Mississippi. She is professor of English and the Phillis Wheatley Distinguished Chair in Poetry at Emory University.

Writers-in-Residence Since 1961

Louis D. Rubin, Jr. Writer-in-Residence Program (named in 2000)

  • 2020: Patricia Spears Jones
  • 2019: Pam Durban
  • 2018: Janisse Ray
  • 2017: Li-Young Lee
  • 2016: Tom Drury
  • 2015: Rebecca McClanahan
  • 2014: Karen Salyer McElmurray M.A. ’89
  • 2013: Karen Osborn ’79
  • 2012: Natasha Trethewey M.A. ’91 (Pulitzer Prize, U.S. Poet Laureate)
  • 2011: Carol Moldaw
  • 2010: David Payne
  • 2009: Kelly Cherry
  • 2008: Christine Schutt ’70
  • 2007: Elizabeth Seydel Morgan ’60
  • 2006: James Dodson
  • 2005: Dara Wier
  • 2004: Denise Giardina
  • 2003: LeAnne Howe
  • 2002: Wayne Johnston
  • 2001: Paul Zimmer

Endowed fund established in 1994 to honor Wyndham Robertson ’58

  • 2000: Kelly Cherry
  • 1999: Brendan Galvin
  • 1998: Elizabeth Forsythe Hailey ’60
  • 1997: Kathy Acker
  • 1996: John Engels
  • 1995: Ellen Douglas


  • 1994: Mary Gaitskill
  • 1993: Carolyn Chute
  • 1992: David Adams Richards
  • 1991: Denise Giardina
  • 1990: Jean Gould
  • 1989: Katie Ketcher Lyle ’59
  • 1988: Alan Cheuse
  • 1987: Mark Smith
  • 1986: Stephen Becker
  • 1985: Richard Bausch
  • 1984: F. T. Prince
  • 1983: Alice McDermott
  • 1982: Mark Smith
  • 1981: George Garrett
  • 1980: Derek Walcott (1992 Nobel Prize in Literature)
  • 1979: William Goyen
  • 1978: Henry Taylor M.A. ’66 (Pulitzer Prize)
  • 1977: Richard Adams
  • 1976: Lee Smith ’67
  • 1975: Sylvia Wilkinson M.A. ’63
  • 1974: Diane Wakoski
  • 1973: Elizabeth Spencer
  • 1972: Angus Wilson (illness prevented his coming)
  • 1971: Kay Boyle
  • 1970: Malcolm Cowley, William Harrison, and Sylvia Wilkinson M.A. ’63
  • 1969: Louise Bogan
  • 1968: Malcolm Cowley and Shelby Foote
  • 1967: Colin Wilson
  • 1966: William Jay Smith
  • 1965: Benedict Kiely
  • 1964: A group of visiting writers including Flannery O’Connor, Robert Penn Warren, and Eudora Welty
  • 1963: Howard Nemerov
  • 1962: William Golding (1983 Nobel Prize in Literature)
  • 1961: John Aldridge