Home : ALUMNAE : Hollins License Plates

Alumnae Relations
Hollins University
P.O. Box 9629
Roanoke, VA 24020-1629
(540) 362-6498
(800-Tinker1)
alumnae@hollins.edu

 

 

 

Hollins License Plates

license plate

Show your green and gold spirit!

Ordering in Virginia

Virginia residents can order Hollins University plates from the Department of Motor Vehicles Web site.

  • The annual plate fee is $25.
  • For each plate sold in the state of Virginia, the Virginia DMV sends $15 to Hollins!

Ordering Out of State

Don't live in Virginia? That doesn't mean that you can't request a Hollins license plate in your area!

How to Get Your State Involved:

 

  • Contact your state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to find out if out-of-state collegiate plates are allowed.
  • Obtain from your state DMV requirements for getting a Hollins plate issued in your state.
  • In many states, someone from an alumnae chapter, etc. will need to be responsible for getting names, addresses, and money collected for the initial order and for working with the DMV and Hollins on the design of the plate, etc.

Each State is Different

Each state has its own regulations for specialty license plates. Some, such as Illinois, require an act of the State Legislature for issuing any specialty plate for an out-of-state organization.

There are several states that might allow a Hollins plate, but will require a minimum number of participants.

Some states that currently do not allow an out-of-state program are:

  • Colorado
  • Michigan
  • South Carolina
  • Florida
  • Ohio
  • Texas
  • Illinois
  • Wisconsin