Home : About Hollins : Environmental Sustainability : Advisory Board

Environmental Advisory Board

In recognition that academic institutions must demonstrate leadership in their communities by modeling sustainable practices and exploring those practices with students, Hollins University established its Environmental Advisory Board (EAB) in March 2006. The EAB's mission is to provide the university president with advice and leadership regarding identification, assessment, creation, and implementation of environmental planning and policies for the university. This initiative supports one of the four main hallmarks of the university's five-year strategic plan — Environmental and Cultural Sustainability.

The EAB is composed of students, faculty, staff, and trustees. Students are appointed by the Student Government Association and others are appointed by the president. EAB members make a significant commitment to environmental work on campus and the dissemination of information about sustainability at Hollins.


2013-14 Members

  • Brook E. Dickson '95
    Executive assistant to the president
  • Kerry J. Edmonds
    Vice president for finance and administration
  • TBD
    Supervisor, buildings and custodial
  • Jesse B. Freedman
    Energy manager
  • Hannah Furbush '15
    Co-chair of SEA (Students for Environmental Action)
  • Ryan Huish
    Assistant professor, biology
  • Katie Johnson '14
    Representative of community garden
  • Thorpe Moeckel
    Assistant professor, English
  • Charlotte Porterfield '68
  • Rae Potter
    Representative of community garden
  • Brenna Rivett '15
    Representative, Student Government Association
  • Annette Sampon-Nicolas
    Chair; professor, French
  • Asya Simmons '14
    Recycling coordinator
  • Nickie Smith
    Assistant dean of students; director, housing and residence life
  • Kindra Wyatt '14
    Representative, Student Government Association